Visiting rider Paul Caton of the Welwyn Wheelers posted the fastest time at this evening’s tt, winning with 24.14.  Nigel Brown was the quickest GDW rider, in second with 24.22 ahead of a few riders with closely matched times.  Vince Hounsome was third on 24.34, Jay Hookins and Kim Little tied on 24.40, Julian Chown finished with 24.42 while James Chant set a new pb with 24.52.  Troy Woolacott also set a new pb time for the Wyke course while Chris Mullett got under half an hour as he gets back to form following his leg break earlier in the year.

Jane Pritchard and Jenny Lucas, ‘fresh’ from their Land’s End to John O’Groats ride headed the lady riders while Josh Day beat fellow junior riders Barney Cox, Matt Alford and Rowan Birch.
The Police received a complaint this evening from a local resident, stating that there were riders racing four abreast in Cemetery Road and drafting a learner driver.  This seems highly unlikely to be an accurate description of the situation but could all riders please remember that whilst warming up or competing that we are on the open road and the Highway Code should be observed at all times.  Thankyou!

So that’s it, the final solo tt of the year  🙁  
But next week sees the traditional end of season 2-up time trial – with prizes!  😀
Also, the hillclimb series continues at Mere with events on September 4th, 14th and 21st. 
Congratulations to Paul Hopkins, Jane Pritchard and Josh Day who all won their championships.  Paul also wins the Vets title from Nigel Brown and Vince Hounsome while the seniors were headed by Charles Rees, Jay Hookins and Julian Chown tied for second with Kim Little third. 
In the Over 50s Vets on Standard competition, there was a tie for first between Grahame Reed and Jane Pritchard, who both scored the maximum 450 points. 
Mike Smith finished with 411 points, Mike Donovan 407, Pete Humphries 404, Rob Gale 388, Jenny Lucas 385 and Don Tanner 381.
Tonight’s results and the final championship standings can be seen here