Yesterday’s annual Open time trial at Bruton was blessed with sunshine and warm temperatures, we seem to get lucky with that every year.  The event went really well thanks to all the efforts from the HQ crew, marshals and Vince and Jerome out on the road.

Congratulations to Rob Pears of Bath CC who was the overall winner again.  His time of 43.22 beat Jon Wynn (Northover Vets, 43.48) into second with Severn RC’s Matt Burden in third on 43.55.  Both Jon and Matt set course best times.
Fastest of the women riders was Nicole Walters (VC Walcot) with 51.21, another with a course pb.  Rick Johnston (Northover Vets) won the over-60s category from Shaun Walsh (Yeovil CC).
GDW just missed out on the team award by nine seconds, with the Somer Valley trio of John Gregory, Nick Creed and Bob Latchem coming out on top.
Stuart Kerton was quickest of the Gillingham riders, setting a pb time of 48.40 for 14th overall.  James Chant had an off day with 52.27, Chris Mullett was back on his tt bike and finished in 53.28.  Grahame Reed was 31st in 55.06, Steve Way was 36th in 56.21, while Don Tanner and Sarah Wheeler were both just over the hour on 60.03 and 60.53 respectively.
Special mention should go to GDW’s James Hywel-Davies who was taking part in his first Open event.  James set a time of 53.02 on his first ride on the course on a road bike with junior gearing.
Full results are here