2008 Hillclimb Champion Simon Barfoot started this year’s series in the same style as he finished last year, with an excellent win to defend his crown.  Simon completed the new course at Mere Hollow in 5 minutes and 11 seconds, just three seconds ahead of James Chant.  Vince Hounsome, despite being sore from crashing in the previous day’s Pittard’s Trophy road race, was third.  The times were –

Simon Barfoot         5.11
James Chant          5.14
Vince Hounsome   5.35
Grahame Reed      5.39
Jerry Cooper           5.56
Nigel Brown            5.58
John Phillips           6.59
Mike Rigby               7.29
Sarah Roberts        7.30