The Gillingham Wheelers annual Open Time Trial at Bruton was held in dry overcast conditions with a stiff northerly breeze.  The event went really well thanks to all the efforts from the Community Hall HQ crew of Angela and Carol, all the marshals and those out on the course.

Congratulations to James Pittard of Discot Phoenix CC who was the overall winner.  His time of 44.36 beat Rob Francis (Pronto Bikes, 44.54) into second with GDW’s Shawn Gray in third on 46.12.
Fastest of the women riders was Joanne Jago (Performance Cycles) with 57.40,   Mike Anderson (CC Moncontour) won the over-60s category from Ted Sprules (FDW).
GDW missed out on the team award by fifty two seconds, with the Bristol South trio of David Bolton, Luke Smith and Daniel Kempe coming out on top.
Nigel Brown on his road bike (and with toothache) was next quickest behind Shawn of the Gillingham riders, setting a time of 51.25 for 16th overall.  Gary Francis did 53.38, Mark Harvey did 57.50 and Chris Mullett and finished in 62.07.
Special mention should go to Shaun Walsh for his help/input into the event and for suggesting use of the Community Hall as an alternative to the double booked Unionist Club.
Full results are here