Charles Rees was in the money again on Saturday at TLI’s National TT championship, held on a hilly 20 kms course near Stockbridge.  Charles’ time of 30.15 included a stop waiting for traffic to clear but was still quick enough for third overall, less than a minute behind Bryce Dyer (A3CRG), the overall winner for the third year in a row.  Charles also won his age group category and takes over from 2008 winner Chris Mullett as TLI Espoir TT Champion.  James Chant got round in 33.23 and Sarah Roberts finished in 39.35.
In the afternoon, there was a 2-up tt on the same course and Charles and James teamed up but had more traffic hold-ups during their run to finish a frustrated ninth.

Sunday saw Round 11 of the WTTA Hardrider series, run by Swindon RC near Wootten Bassett. The course was a typical Hardrider route, 23 hilly miles finishing with an ascent of an 18% climb out of (the appropriately named) Clyffe Pypard which saw riders getting off and walking up.  James Chant found his legs didn’t want to work after the TLI events so decided to treat the event as a recovery ride and cruise round for a 1 hour 6 minutes time.  Sarah Roberts and Chris Mullett presumably decided that the course just wasn’t hard or long enough for either of them.  Sarah did around 26 miles and a spot of map reading for 1.24 while Chris went for a round figure of 30 miles but didn’t find the finish line. (Unfortunately, the organisers had had trouble getting signage and marshals for the junctions and a few riders went astray during the event.).  Ben Anstie (Chippenham Wheelers) was the overall winner with an incredible time of 53.30.

The EDCA series continued on Bank Holiday Monday on the 15 mile P416 course at Lychett Minster. Simon Barfoot and Vince Hounsome both put in good performances with 11th for Simon (35.08) and 13th for Vince (35.37), results that will keep them both solidly in the top 10 in this championship.  Chris Mullett also took part and was 37th with a time of 40.47.

At the GDW evening hillclimb, it was recent member James Gray who set the pace with a new record time for the course.  He won in 4.39, 20 seconds clear of Simon Barfoot who got under the 5 minute barrier for the first time.  Henry Harris was third, Sarah Roberts was the fastest lady rider and Josh Day the fastest junior, both with  Times and points here.

Thanks to Jerome and Lindy for putting out the signs in spite of Jerome’s injuries and to Mark Geddes for stepping in to do the pushing off that Jerome would normally do.  We have been short of marshals lately, if anyone can make it along to the final tt on Wednesday to stand in the rain that would be great.  Come to the Todber layby in time for the 1830 start.  This week’s tt is for 2-up pairs – it will be non-championship round but there will be prizes!